Mandate lists 11 advanced driver assist systems to be fitted to new cars from 2021

The European Commission has announced a new set of safety rules which will see all new cars feature autonomous emergency braking, lane keeping assistance, reversing cameras, driver fatigue detection by 2021.

A total of 11 systems will become mandatory for new cars introduced to the market, saving an estimated 7,300 lives and preventing 38,900 serious injuries between 2020 and 2030.

Experts have long been predicting autonomous emergency braking (AEB) to be made mandatory on new cars.

The system, which automatically applies a car’s brakes if a driver fails to slow for an obstacle, is thought to reduce rear-end collisions by 38 per cent.

From 2021 new cars must also feature ‘over-ridable intelligent speed assistance’.

This system uses traffic sign recognition cameras to control the car’s speed limiter, automatically setting a car’s upper speed based on prevailing limits.

New cars will also have to be fitted with accident data recorders by 2021, logging telematics information following any collision.

Mandatory ADAS to be fitted to all new cars

  • Advanced emergency braking
  • Alcohol interlock installation facilitation
  • Drowsiness and attention detection
  • Event (accident) data recorder
  • Emergency stop signal
  • Full-width frontal occupant protection crash test, plus improved seatbelts
  • Head impact zone enlargement for pedestrians and cyclists, plus safety glass
  • Intelligent speed assistance
  • Lane-keeping assist
  • Pole side-impact occupant protection
  • Reversing camera or detection system

Your Comments